Dow Chemical

Dr. James C. Stevens, renowned chemist at Dow Performance and Chemicals R&D, was honored as the Society of Chemical Industry's 100th Perkin Medal recipient at last month's annual dinner in Philadelphia. The Perkin Medal is the highest honor in American industrial chemistry. Stevens owns more than 75 U.S. patents and has received many prestigious awards for his work in plastics.


Bruno Schiavello, director of fluid dynamics in the technology department of Flowserve Pumps, Dallas, TX, has won the 2006 Fluid Machinery Design Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Schiavello earned the lifetime ASME award for his achievements in advanced pump design for both single-size pumps and complete pump lines.


Two decades after international scientists determined that chlorofluorocarbons were impacting the ozone layer, three DuPont engineers have been recognized for their invention of non-ozone-depleting alternatives. They are Donald B. Bivens, a former process engineer and research scientist at DuPont and now a consultant for the company; Mark B. Shiflett, a research associate; and Akimichi "Michi" Yokozeki, a process engineer and research scientist. The three were presented with Heroes of Chemistry awards from the American Chemical Society. The Heroes of Chemistry program, started in 1996, honors industrial chemists and chemical engineers who create commercially successful products that improve the quality of life.


Vortex, based in Salina, KS, has recruited Jon Naylor to spearhead its emergent UK business. As European managing director, Naylor is developing a UK operation that will provide a springboard to Europe and the Middle East for the Vortex valves brand. Vortex is a manufacturer of bulk dry material handling valves.